For my own sanity I need to write about this. Write and write. So I need a hysterectomy. I was just typing ‘its really not a big deal’, but it is. And the number of women who have told me in the last month that they have had one is astounding. ASTOUNDING. No, I don’t have cancer, but the risk of it developing is reasonable as long as I keep my lady bits (thanks Rhea for the great moniker) so out they will go.  Not planning on having kids and no more periods so its all good from that point of view, I suppose.

I am so alarmed that so many women are having this done. That’s just not right! What is going on that our reproductive systems are overloaded, creating abnormalities, putting our lives at risk and being deemed best removed?? You would not believe the stories I’ve heard from all age ranges of women.  The conditions vary though several have had what I have: endometrial hyperplasia with atypia. Say that five times fast. In a nutshell, weird cells growing too much in the endometrial lining.  The doc says its from estrogen exposure over our longer lives. I don’t know that I’m buying it. Granted I was exposed more being on the pill when I was younger so maybe that was it, but there has to be more going on here. Friends with exploding fibroids, cysts, excessive periods, and other issues raises an enormous flag of concern for me. I will be asking many more questions.

We are the incubators of truth, art, music, science, laughter, hope and possibility in the future. We create life. And the things that make this possible is increasingly diseased. Damaged beyond repair. Unfathomable to me.

The doc says this is common. Common?!?! This should not be common nor accepted as such! Don’t get me wrong, I don’t feel that I should defiantly say no to the removal of my lady bits. I am not attached to them and if they jeopardize my future with my kids, get ’em outta there. I want to understand and confront how this happened in the first place. What are we eating, drinking, living near, etc that is causing this to occur?

I am not okay with accepting this as just par for the course in womanhood. Nope. Not doing it. And neither should you.

