Inspiration has been elusive…especially amidst the turmoil and demands of life. I was going to say everyday life, however it feels to be anything but. The richest words of wisdom as of late suggested I make pots with the purpose of destroying them. Objects for ranting, venting and general dispelling of the negativity that inevitably creeps in despite all my best efforts. I must say this idea has nagged at me a bit, toyed with me, too. Well why not? Clay is recyclable. As long as it isn’t fired and glazed it can be reconstituted and used again and again. Perhaps it would be an unusual gift to myself…to make and make again without concern for outcome, sale-ability, a particular aesthetic or precision of form. This peculiar idea does turn up the corners of my mouth and challenge me in a new way. I’m curious to see what tomorrow brings.

