I have always had an interest in altering forms. As a metalsmith and caster, I spent quite a bit of time carving wax for rings and handles to give them voluptuous form I was seeking. I love resisting the hard, rigid nature of metal with soft, curvy forms. Here is a set of salt and pepper shakers with aluminum handles originally carved from wax before casting.

I flux back and forth between pure form and wanting to alter the porcelain after I throw it. I am not a fan of symmetry. I find it kind of boring and like to imitate the swirls and patterns in nature, particularly in water. These recent forms were a challenge to create a new kind of foot at the base of the pot as well as altering the lip and still be functional. I take time focusing on each individual piece and don’t have a standard way of carving. Each piece is entirely unique and I like that.

