I am continuing to roll with the frenetic pace of suddenly summer; ever-growing children and weeds, lifeguard duty or rainy day games, and the speed of light with which my thoughts race through new form, carving and glaze applications. Whew!

The Hamster Pants have taken me through news forms I am anxious to share, now drying in wait for carving and bisquing. I wonder if they have run their course? Not sure, but I can say they have been a delightful conversation piece over afternoon barbecues and evening cocktails.  Footed pots will continue for sure but somehow I am called back to more elegant forms, forms that revisit the spiral, growth and lifting the eye.  More on that to come.

At the same time I am revisiting texture.  I have been so inspired by the works of Gary Jackson of Fire When Ready Pottery and Amy Higgason of Pigeon Road Pottery. They both create such rhythm with their stamping techniques as well as adding depth and interest to the clay.I have experimented this last week with making my own stamps from a woodcut I carved long ago. I singled out some of my favorite elements for mini tiles and stamps to accent some of pots. I am curious to see where this leads me.

