I am glad to finally see that Euan made time for us to read of what is happening on the other side of the world.  I find that I am often looking to see if he and his family are well. Has he been able to make new work?  How is the recovery effort going?  It brings a certain kind of reality to my own living. It can become so easy to forget how good things truly are.  Euan’s words are so amazing to me; how does he find beauty through this awful tragedy? How does he manage to keep going, keep striving, keep believing it will all come together?  As always, I am buoyed up by his words, my teacher from far away.

From the movements of the stars and planets to the falling of a drop of dew, nature is beautiful as a matter of course.

It is not contrived or artificial, it springs from the beauty of the process.

I will continue to strive, to make each day, each moment, as beautiful and rich as I can, and trust that that beauty will live in my work.

No matter what plans I make, I find myself dealing with circumstances. But that is the way it is, and I cannot force the world to my will, any more than I can force the clay.

I trust that if I live my life as honestly as I can, each and every day, then life will be beautiful, as a matter of course.

I will let you know how I get on.”   -Euan Craig

Euan the Potter

