Some of you have been hearing the buzz about these little doo dads and I think I am finally to the point where I can begin to share them.

Hamsterpants were born from a story read with my daughter and exploring an instructional video posted on Ceramics Daily. I began to play with the concept of creating tripod feet on a cylindrical pot and posted the results of that exploration a few weeks ago.

As I began to explore pushing out the form, little pants began to take shape! We rolled on the floor with laughter and for the first time in a long time I realized how good it feels to just create something that is playful and damn joyous. I haven’t done that in a really long time.  I pushed and pulled, stamped and carved.  Dawn and I began to explore how to have two stable feet instead of three (I tried making the third foot a tail and it just didn’t cut the mustard).  There have been several rounds of experimentation resulting in the little guys below.

I shared bisqued pieces with a focus group for feedback and ideas a few weeks ago. Utensil holders, planters, baby shower gifts, all kids of inventive ideas and brainstorming ensued.  Many have been made since and several techniques are explored in each firing to bring out the most in the form. I plan to have a nice little collection for the site launch of OH! Only Handmade in the next week or so.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

