Every now and then I go back to my artist’s list on the right and catch up on what people are making and saying about their craft and their lives. Yesterday I went to visit Euan Craig in Japan and couldn’t be more grateful for his words and his work.

There is a quiet, reverent attention in both how he writes and how his pots are presented. So incredibly beautiful and thoughtful. I think his entry from October, The Book of Pots, could live on my desktop where I would read it each day and never become tired of what he has shared.

He writes about the “Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam” a Persian poet from the 12th century and comments that “It has taught me to recognise that I am a part of nature and that, though I cannot control the challenges which fate puts before me, my actions and choices are completely my own.”

Here with a Loaf of Bread beneath the Bough,
A flask of Wine, a Book of Verse – and Thou
Beside me singing in the Wilderness –
And Wilderness is Paradise enow.

” I have today and it is good. I cannot heal the world, nor can I always take away the anguish from the hearts of those I love, though I wish with all my heart that I could. But I can give form to my passion, and through these vessels perhaps give joy to others and help them find succour in simply living. And perhaps in a hundred or eight hundred years this clay that my fingers have touched will touch the lips of another and give them hope. Just as Omar’s words reached over eight hundred years and all the barriers of language and culture to touch my heart, and these words I write tonight may reach some anonymous reader elsewhere on the globe.”

They did Euan. Thank you.

