Slow and steady wins the race. Whew. Threw about six 12-15 inch vessels this week. My back is not thanking me but I am thankful for the hands on folks who keep me going.  Here is a view of my workspace and the two vessels I am currently working on.

It is an interesting sensation, immersing ones self in a project geared towards a particular person with a particular purpose. I have experienced an intimacy that is different than just creating an object that will go out to someone, anyone, in the world. I feel connected to something else, not necessarily greater or smaller, just something else.

In creating this vessel I am wanting the light to shine out as well as create pattern within. I can’t wait to see what happens when it’s glazed and the light fills it for the first time. Then the words of a life of meaning will follow the leaves, giving them more depth.

