glazepotential_sm

The lastest glaze firing produced some consistent results worth continuing. In this piece a drip line formed where three glazes met creating an interesting flow for the eye to follow.  The introduction of clear glaze affected the other two applications in a way that I think will be worth including in pieces moving forward.

I like using tumblers and plates for glaze tests so that the results are useful and can be experienced to see how the glaze feels plus get a feel for the weight of the finished piece.  I also then ‘live’ with a piece seeing if my interest in it grows or wanes. I become more inspired by how the piece relates to the environment as well as seeing it sit on the shelf amongst other pieces.

Several more pieces entered the kiln today with a variety of this glaze application to see how the line can be enhanced, muted, etc.

